As Ever!



News Items 

Another year in the spirit of continuity

Saint-Hyacinthe, 28 April 2009 – At the Board of Directors meeting of the Centre d’insémination artificielle du Québec held on 28 April 2009, on the same day when CIAQ presented its report for the year 2008, the Board members reappointed Mr Guy Lavoie as CIAQ’s Chairman for a third consecutive year. He will be assisted by Serge Blanchette as 1st Vice-chairman and Normand Barriault as 2nd Vice-chairman.

 A delegate from the Conseil provincial des CAB (CP CAB) and a member of the Board of Directors of The Semex Alliance, Mr Lavoie has been sitting on the CIAQ Board of Directors of CIAQ since 2002 and of the CP CAB since 1997. Guy Lavoie operates a dairy farm in Saint-Bonaventure with his spouse, Violette Denoncourt, and their son Alexandre. The herd includes 45 Holstein and Jersey cows bearing the Bona prefix.

A new Board member was selected by one of the owners, the Fédération des producteurs de lait du Québec (FPLQ). Pierre Thibault, a dairy producer in Upton, Québec, is an administrator of the Syndicat des producteurs de lait de Saint-Hyacinthe (milk producers syndicate) since 1985, he was appointed on the executive committee in 2000, became Vice-chairman in 2004 and Chairman in 2006. Despite his numerous commitments, both on the social and agricultural levels, he does not neglect his farm work that he shares with his daughter Mélanie, co-owner of the farm operation.


Chairman Lavoie thanked all the CIAQ employees and his colleagues on the Board of Directors for their dedication, their collaboration and their confidence throughout the year, and more particularly Gilbert Rioux, who is leaving CIAQ after sitting on the Board for two years.

Gilbert Rioux receiving a thank you gift
from Guy Lavoie, Chairman
Pierre Thibault new member
of the Board of Directors
Board of directors of the Centre d'insémination artificielle du Québec 2009-2010
Chairman Guy Lavoie, Conseil provincial des CAB inc.
1st Vice-chairman
Serge Blanchette, Conseil québécois des races laitières inc.
2nd Vice-chairman
Normand Barriault, Fédération des producteurs de lait du Québec
Fédération des producteurs
de lait du Québec
Conseil québécois
des races laitières inc.
Daniel Côté
Pierre Thibault
Gary Bowers
Léonard Chabot
Conseil provincial des CAB inc.
Membres externes
François Gauthier
Alphonse Pittet
Mario Hébert
Orance Mainville

For more information, please contact :
Normand Renaud, CIAQ's General Manager, at 450 774-1141


© 2009-2018 Ciaq, limited partnership   Privacy Policy | Web Design